California Alcoholic Beverage Control Agents will be out on Cinco de Mayo
Celebrate Cinco de Mayo Responsibly, Remember Buzzed Driving Is Drunk Driving
SACRAMENTO – The California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) will have agents out promoting public safety through enforcement of alcoholic beverage laws in communities throughout California this weekend when there are many celebrations recognizing Cinco de Mayo. ABC Agents will visit both ABC licensed businesses and large venues to help prevent disorderly activity and try to reduce alcohol service to obviously intoxicated patrons and persons under 21 years-old.
Along with enforcement efforts, ABC relies on all licensees to follow the law. “ABC licensed establishments play a significant role in the effort to improve overall safety in communities. They can do their part by checking ID’s, not serving obviously intoxicated patrons, and reminding everyone of alternative transportation options to get home safely,” says ABC Director Jacob Appelsmith.
ABC reminds anyone of legal drinking age to designate a non-drinking driver before any celebrations where alcohol is involved. In the rush to prepare for a night out, it’s easy to forget the most important plan of all: designating a sober driver. Some may think they can play it by ear and wait until after the party has started to decide whether they’re “okay to drive.” By this point, it’s too late. Going out for a night of drinking without a plan for getting home safely is a recipe for disaster.
ABC supports the effort from the Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) to educate all drivers that “DUI Doesn’t Just Mean Booze.” Remember: Buzzed Driving Is Drunk Driving, and when you drive impaired, you run the risk of killing yourself or someone else. You will be looking at jail time, the loss of your driver’s license, higher insurance rates, and dozens of other unanticipated expenses ranging from attorney fees, court costs, car or motorcycle towing, repairs and lost wages due to time off from work. The average DUI costs about $10,000. A final statistic to remember: drunk-driving deaths are 100-percent preventable.
ABC Cinco de Mayo enforcement efforts are funded by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and remember – Report Drunk Drivers – call 911.
ABC protects communities through education and by administering prevention and enforcement programs designed to increase compliance with California’s alcoholic beverage laws. The next statewide DUI enforcement campaign will happen on Memorial Day weekend.
To learn more about ABC programs that can prevent alcohol-related harm and save lives visit the Enforcement page on ABC’s website. ABC is a department of the Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency.
Additional information may be obtained by contacting:
Public Information Office
3927 Lennane Drive, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95834
Phone: (916) 419-2525