ABC Reminds the Public to Celebrate Responsibly This Cinco de Mayo
Licensees must remember to check IDs carefully and not over-serve patrons
Sacramento – The California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) is reminding the public to celebrate responsibly this May 5, when there are many celebrations recognizing Cinco de Mayo. If you are celebrating with alcohol, designate a sober driver or use a rideshare. Those caught driving impaired and charged with a first-time DUI face an average of $13,500 in fines and penalties, as well as a suspended license.
“ABC licensees can help keep communities safe by checking IDs and ensuring customers are not over-served,” said ABC Director Eric Hirata. “Let’s all do our part to keep these celebrations safe.”
It is illegal for anyone 21 or older to drive with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher.
According to the California Driver Handbook, it takes two drinks consumed within one hour by a woman between 120-160 pounds and three drinks by a man between 180-220 pounds to be over the legal limit of .08 percent. One drink is based on 1.5 oz. of liquor (40 percent alcohol), 12 oz. of beer (4.5 percent alcohol) or a 5 oz. glass of wine (12 percent alcohol). The BAC lowers at a rate of .01 percent for every 40 minutes between drinks.
Funding for Cinco de Mayo enforcement is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS), through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
ABC protects communities through education and by administering prevention and enforcement programs designed to increase compliance with California’s alcoholic beverage laws. Visit ABC’s website to learn about ABC programs that can increase public safety.
ABC is a Department of the Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency.