Human Trafficking Public Notice for Type 48 Licensees
In 2013, Senate Bill 1193 added Civil Code Section 52.6. The law requires specified businesses, including on-sale general public premise licensees (Type 48), to post a notice informing the public and victims of human trafficking of telephone hotline numbers to seek help or report unlawful activity. There are specific posting and language requirements, and penalties for failure to post. A link to the mandated notice is provided below.
Disclaimer: The Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) regularly archives industry advisories for transparency and historical reference. However, the advisories may not necessarily reflect the current state of the discussed statute or regulation. Please consult the statute, regulation, and/or an attorney before taking any action to ensure compliance with the law.
Where Must the Public Notice Be Posted?
Civil Code Section 52.6 requires that a specified business or other establishment must post the notice in a conspicuous place near the public entrance of the establishment or in another conspicuous location in clear view of the public and employees where similar notices are customarily posted.
What Languages the Public Notices Must Contain?
The notice to be posted shall be printed in English, Spanish, and in one other language that is the most widely spoken language in the county where the establishment is located and for which translation is mandated by the federal Voting Rights Act (42 U.S.C. Sec. 1973 et seq.), as applicable. The section does not require a business or other establishment in a county where a language other than English or Spanish is the most widely spoken language to print the notice in more than one language in addition to English and Spanish
The Attorney General’s Model Public Notice
The Attorney General of California has developed a “model notice” available for you to download on the California Department of Justice’s Internet website.
- English Notice
- Spanish Notice (currently disabled)
Liability and Penalty for Failing to Post the Public Notice
Civil Code Section 52.6(e) creates civil liability for a business or establishment that fails to comply with the posting requirement. The penalty for violating this law is $500 for a first offense and $1,000 for each subsequent offense. Failure to post may also result in disciplinary action against your license by ABC.
Additional information may be obtained by contacting:
Alcoholic Beverage Control
3927 Lennane Drive, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95834
Email us at email@example.com
Call (916) 419-2500