Human Trafficking Public Notice
Civil Code 52.6. Notice.
Posting of Public Notices Regarding Slavery and Human Trafficking.
Type 48 Licenses.
Senate Bill 1193 requires specified businesses including-on sale general public premises licenses (type 48) and other establishments, as of April 1, 2013, to post a notice informing the public and victims of human trafficking of telephone hotline numbers to seek help or report unlawful activity. There are specific posting mandates, language requirements, and penalties for failure to post. A link to the mandated notice is available on the website below. Each mandated business is required to post the notice in English and Spanish. In addition, for businesses located in specific counties, a third language posting is required.
- Where Must the Public Notice Be Posted?
Civil Code § 52.6 requires that a specified business or other establishment must post the notice in a conspicuous place near the public entrance of the establishment or in another conspicuous location in clear view of the public and employees where similar notices are customarily posted.
- What Languages the Public Notices Must Contain?
The specified businesses and other establishments must post the notice in English, Spanish, and in one other language that is the most widely spoken language in the business or establishment’s location (and for which translation is mandated by the Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973, et seq.). For those counties where a language other than English or Spanish is the most widely spoken language, Civil Code § 52.6 does not require the public notice to be printed in the non-English and non- Spanish language.
The Attorney General’s Model Public Notice The Attorney General of California has developed a”model notice” available for download on the California Department of Justice’s website.
The model notice is available in English and Spanish. The Attorney General has also provided a list of counties in which a third language other than English and Spanish is the most widely spoken language.
- Liability and Penalty for Failing to Post the Public Notice Civil Code § 52.6(e) creates civil liability for a business or establishment that fails to comply with the posting requirement. The penalty for violating this law is $500 for a first offense and $1,000 for each subsequent offense.
Additional information may be obtained by contacting:
Alcoholic Beverage Control
3927 Lennane Drive, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95834
Email us at email@example.com
Call (916) 419-2500