ABC Suspends the License of the Dollar Plus Store in Valley Springs
Two suspension orders prohibit alcohol sales for the next 35 days
Valley Springs-Calaveras County – On October 21, 2020, Agents of the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) posted a Notice of Suspension at the Dollar Plus Store, located at 54 California Street in Valley Springs. Alcohol sales at the store are immediately prohibited and will not be allowed for the next 35 days.
ABC filed two separate accusations against the store for illegal activity. The first accusation was filed after ABC agents from the Department’s Special Operations Unit discovered illegal drug paraphernalia at the store and sold purportedly stolen property to a store clerk on five separate occasions in January and February of 2020. The second accusation was filed after ABC agents from the Stockton District determined the store sold alcohol to a minor on August 28, 2020.
The store owner signed two separate stipulation and waiver agreements waiving the right to a hearing before an administrative law judge and accepting ABC’s penalties. The store agreed to a 20-day suspension for selling drug paraphernalia and purchasing purported stolen property and agreed to a 15-day suspension for selling alcohol to a minor. As a result, both suspensions will be served back to back and the store cannot sell alcohol for a 35-day period ending November 24, 2020.
ABC protects communities through education, prevention, and enforcement programs designed to increase compliance with California’s alcoholic beverage laws.
ABC encourages licensees to sign up for ABC’s Licensee Education on Alcohol and Drugs (LEAD) training free of charge. Licensees and their employees can now take the training online. To learn more about ABC enforcement and prevention programs that can help increase public safety, visit ABC.
ABC is a Department of the Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency.