ABC Announces On-Sale Liquor Licenses for Mariposa County
Sacramento – Eric Hirata, Director of the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC), announced authorization for the issuance of five (5) new on-sale general licenses for bona fide public eating places in Mariposa County, as authorized in Section 23826.15 of the Business & Professions Code. Any premises to qualify for a license under this statute shall have a seating capacity for 50 or more diners. A license issued under this section shall not be sold or transferred for a price greater than the original fee paid by the seller or transferor and shall not be transferred from one county to another, nor shall it be transferred to any premises not qualifying under this section.
From September 13, 2021 through September 24, 2021, the ABC’s Stockton District Office will accept applications for the new original on-sale general licenses at 31 E. Channel Street, Room 168, Stockton, CA 95202 or at any other ABC office throughout the state.
Only one priority application will be accepted from any one applicant. A fee of $15,835 is to be paid when filing a priority application for a new original on-sale general license.
If the number of applicants is equal to or less than the number of licenses available, all applicants will be notified that they have 90 days to complete a formal application for their specific premises.
If the ABC receives more applications than there are licenses available, a virtual drawing will be held. To participate in such a drawing, an applicant must have been a resident of California for at least 90 days prior to the date of the scheduled drawing. Successful drawing participants will be notified that they have 90 days to complete a formal application for their specific premises.
“We are excited to hold drawings virtually again this year. Virtual drawings help to increase attendance, and provide a safer environment for those participating,” said ABC Director Eric Hirata.
Unsuccessful drawing participants will be automatically refunded their application fee (minus a $100 service charge) within 90-120 days of the priority drawing but will retain their priority ranking until a new priority list is established in 2022. Successful participants who file a formal application for a priority license who then decide to withdraw their application, will be entitled to a refund in accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 23320. Pursuant to the provisions of Section 12419.5 of the Government Code, if an applicant owes money to the California taxing agencies, a claim against the priority application fee may be made by the taxing agency. If such a claim is made, the amount owed will be deducted from the priority application fee at the time of refund and remitted to the taxing agency.
Applicants are encouraged to file their applications early in the filing period to avoid a lengthy wait.
In the coming weeks, additional information and instructions regarding applications for original and intercounty transfer of general licenses will be made available on ABC’s website.
Additional information may be obtained by contacting:
Public Information Office
3927 Lennane Drive, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95834
Phone: (916) 419-2525