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Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

ISSUANCE OF ORIGINAL AND INTERCOUNTY 
TRANSFER OF ON-SALE GENERAL AND OFF-
SALE GENERAL LICENSES 

State of California 
Gavin Newsom, Governor 

 

 
Instructions:  Please read this entire form before filing your application. 
 
 
INTRODUCTION: 
 

Licenses to sell beer and wine are available year-round from the State if the applicant and the premises 

qualify.  However, general licenses, which authorize the retail sale of beer, wine and distilled spirits, are 

restricted in number and are authorized to be issued originally and via inter-county transfer only once per 

year, based upon population vs. existing license ratios within each county.1 Where there are more applicants 

than licenses available,  drawings are held and “priority” rankings are assigned.  Licenses applied for and 

issued via the priority system are subject to unique requirements and restrictions.  The only other way to 

obtain a general license is to purchase an existing license from someone who has one already within the same 

county. 

 
 
PRIORITY FILING PERIOD: 
 

During the period of September 14 - 25, 2020, ABC offices will accept applications for priority licenses in 

eligible counties (see page 7).    

 
 

PRIORITY APPLICATION FEES: 
 

• Original On-Sale General      $15,835 

• Original Off-Sale General    $15,835 

• Intercounty Transfer On-Sale General  $6,000 

• Intercounty Transfer Off-Sale General $6,000 

 

The priority application fee must be paid by certified check, cashier's check, or money order only.  Additional 

fees (i.e.; fingerprint, annual fees, etc.) are to be collected at the time of filing the formal application.   

 

Unsuccessful drawing participants or those who withdraw their interest in a priority license prior to the drawing 

or prior to filing a formal application, may request a full refund, minus a $100 service charge.   

 

Successful participants who file a formal application for a priority license will be entitled to a refund in 

accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 23320.  Please note that B&P Section 23320 was 

amended as of July 1, 2019. 

 

Refunds will be made payable to the applicant(s) listed on the ABC-521, unless noted otherwise.   

 

If an applicant owes money to California taxing agencies, a claim against the priority application fee may be 

made by the taxing agency.  If such a claim is made, the amount owed will be deducted from the priority 

application fee at the time of refund and remitted to the taxing agency. 

 

 

 
1Article XX. Section 22 of the State Constitution and Sections 23793, 23816, 23817, 23821, 23954.5, 23961, 23962, 24070, 24071, 24072,  

and 24079 of the ABC Act, and Rule 60.2 of Division 1, Title 4 of the California Code of Regulations 
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FILING THE PRIORITY APPLICATION: 
 

Applications may be filed in person by filing the application at one of the ABC offices listed on Page 8 

or by mail.  You may file your application at the local ABC office overseeing the county where your 

proposed premises will be located, or at any of the listed ABC offices that is more convenient for you.  

During the priority period, ABC offices will plan to be open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 

5:00 p.m.  Please note that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we encourage all applicants to mail in 

their priority application.  Some offices have experienced periodic closures throughout the 

pandemic, and we cannot guarantee at this time that each office will be open for public access 

during the priority filing period.   

 

Deadline: 

 

• In person:  On Friday, September 25, 2020, only those applicants within the doors of the office 

by 5:00 p.m. may file priority applications.  (Please see the note above regarding the potential 

for office closures and plan accordingly.  If dropping an application off, please contact the 

office first to ensure they are open.) 

 

• By mail:   Your envelope containing Items (1) through (2) below must be postmarked on or 

before Friday, September 25, 2020. 

 

The following items are required: 

 

(1) Fee - certified check, cashier's check or money order, payable to: Alcoholic Beverage Control.  

 

(2) Form ABC-521, Priority License Application– To be completed in full by all applicants, 

including previously qualified ‘P-12’ licensees.   The application requires a single signature on 

behalf of the applicant entity.  If not signed in the presence of an ABC employee, the application 

must be notarized.  In signing Form ABC-521, the applicant agrees to comply with conditions 

and requirements unique to the established priority licensing process.  Failure to comply with the 

conditions and requirements may result in automatic withdrawal of the application and 

cancellation of an applicant’s priority position. 

 

 

NAME(S) ON PRIORITY APPLICATION: 
 

 The application for a priority license must include the names of all persons or entities who have  

        an ownership interest in the priority application or in the business to be licensed.  Failure to list all   

        persons/entities is grounds for disqualification and loss of priority status.   
 

An incomplete or inaccurate application will not be accepted and will likely render the applicant 

ineligible for a priority license.  

 

RESIDENCY: 
 

To be eligible to participate in a priority drawing, an applicant must have been a resident of California 
for at least 90 days prior to the date of the drawing.  If a drawing is necessary, an applicant for a priority 
license will be required to prove residency via submission of the below described documents: 
 

• Individuals — Proof of residency can be established via documents such as a California Driver 

License, utility bills, voter registration, etc.   

 
• Partnerships — Each partner must provide proof of residency; see information under 

“Individuals”, above. 
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• Corporations — The 90-day residence begins with the date its Articles of Incorporation are filed 
with the Secretary of State. For out-of-state corporations, the 90-day residency begins with the 
date registered with the Secretary of State to do business in California.   

 
• Limited Partnerships — The 90-day residency begins with the date the form LP-1 is filed with 

the Secretary of State.  For out-of-state limited partnerships, the 90-day residency begins with 
the date registered with the Secretary of State to do business in California. 

 
• Limited Liability Companies — The 90-day residency begins with the date the form LLC-1 is 

filed with the Secretary of State.  For out-of-state limited liability companies, the 90-day 
residency begins with the date registered with the Secretary of State to do business in California. 

 

Failure to provide proof of residency as described above will result in being disqualified from the priority 

licensing process.   

 
CONDITIONS AND RESTRICTIONS: 
 

Applicant: 

 

No person or entity who files for a priority license may have an interest in any other priority application for 

the same type of license in the same county and drawing. However, an applicant for an original general 

license may also file an application for the inter-county transfer of a general license of the same type in the 

same county. 

 

• Applicants may not pool funds to file more than one priority application for the same type of license 

and transaction. 

 

• A married couple may file only one priority application for the same type of license and transaction. 

 

• No corporation, limited partnership or limited liability company may file a priority application if it 

holds the interest in another entity that has filed for the same type of license and transaction in the 

same county. 

 

• If more than one corporation, limited partnership or limited liability company is a subsidiary of the 

same parent, only one may file a priority application for the same type of license and transaction.  

 

• A person or entity who holds ownership interest in a priority applicant entity, or who is a principal 

(officer, director, LLC manager, general partner, etc.) of an applicant entity, may not hold interest in 

or be a principal of another applicant entity for the same type of license and transaction in the same 

county.  

 

Each priority application must show the names of all persons having an interest in the license application and 

related business, including all: 

 

• Partners 

• General and limited partners of a Limited Partnership  

• Corporate officers and directors 

• Stockholders or prospective stockholders  

• Limited liability company officers, managers, and members  

 

Additional partners may not be added after the priority application period.  Any changes in ownership or 

management that occur within an applicant entity between the time of filing a priority application and actual 

issuance of a priority license which results in the entity, via its principals or owners, having more than one 

opportunity in a single priority drawing, will be cause for disqualification. 
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PRIORITY OF APPLICANTS 

 

If the number of applicants is equal to or less than the number of licenses available, all applicants will be 

notified that they have 90 days to complete a formal application for their specific premises.   

 

If there are more applicants than licenses available, a virtual drawing will be held.  The date, time and 

details of any drawing will be posted on the ABC website (www.abc.ca.gov).  After the drawing is held, 

the Department will notify each applicant by mail of their priority position.   

 

Successful Drawing Participants:   

 

• A successful drawing participant is one whose priority position (number) is lower than the number of 

licenses available.  These applicants will be notified that they have 90 days to complete a formal 

application for their specific premises.  

 

• Successful drawing participants who do not wish to proceed with filing a formal application may 

withdraw their interest and request a full refund, minus a $100 service charge.  Once a formal 

application has been filed, the applicant will only be entitled to a refund in accordance with B&P 

Code Section 23320.  Please note that this section was amended as of July 1, 2019. (Also, see 

Application Fees [page 1] regarding claims by California taxing agencies). 

 

Unsuccessful Drawing Participants:   

 

• An unsuccessful drawing participant is one whose priority position (number) is higher than the 

number of licenses available.   

 

• The priority application fee, minus a $100 service charge, will be refunded to each unsuccessful 

drawing participant.  Refund checks will be mailed within 90-120 days of the priority drawing (See 

Application Fees [page 1] regarding claims by California taxing agencies). 

 

• Unsuccessful drawing participants will maintain the priority position assigned to them at the 

priority drawing.  In the event a successful applicant is disqualified or withdraws, the next 

drawing participant in order of priority will be contacted and will have 30 days to repay the 

previously refunded priority application fee, and an additional 60 days to file a formal 

application. 

 

• In order to maintain priority position, unsuccessful drawing participants are encouraged to notify 

ABC of any change in mailing address that occurs while the priority drawing lists are active.  

 

Expiration of Priority:  Priority drawing lists automatically expire the day before the following year’s list is 

established.   
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FORMAL APPLICATION FOR PRIORITY LICENSE: 
 

A priority applicant must file a formal application for a specific location within 90 days of the 

Department’s notification and authorization to do so. Failure to file a formal application within the 90 

day period will result in loss of priority position and the opportunity to apply will be extended to the next 

applicant on the list.  In addition to the below, all statutory requirements and Departmental procedures 

set forth for issuing other original retail licenses apply to formal applications for priority licenses.  

 

Proof of Tenancy:   
 

Prior to license issuance, a priority applicant must present proof of a two-year right of tenancy (rental 

agreement, lease, grant deed, etc.) at the applied-for premises.  As the required two-year tenancy 

requirement starts when the license issues and there is no guarantee that a license will be granted, it is 

suggested that any financial agreements be contingent upon actual issuance of the priority license. 

 

Premises: 

 

At the time of filing formal application, an on-sale general priority applicant is to designate planned operation 

as one of the below: 

 

(1) A bona fide public eating place as defined by Business and Professions Code section 23038; or 

 

(2) A public premises as defined by Business and Professions Code section 23039, but only if the 

applicant is able to establish during the formal application process that substantial public demand for 

issuance of the license cannot otherwise be satisfied; or 

 

(3) A club as defined and authorized by Business and Professions Code sections 23037 and  

      23399.2; or 

 

             (4)  A on-sale general brew-pub restaurant as defined by Business and Professions Code section 23396.3. 

 

Generally, an applicant for a priority license may only make formal application at a location not  

currently licensed with the same license type.  Under certain circumstances, the department may allow 

formal application to be made at a location already licensed with the same license type if: 

 

(1) The applicant holds no ownership interest in the existing license and there is no conflicting 

business relationship or arrangement between the applicant and the existing license holder, and; 

 

(2) The existing license is surrendered under Rule 65 at or before filing of the formal application and 

remains surrendered throughout the application process (unless transferred to another premises). 

 

Once formal application for a priority license has been made, no change in the location of the applied-for 

license will be permitted after the expiration of the 90-day period in which the priority application must 

be filed, except for causes beyond the control of the applicant and with approval of the ABC Director. 

 

An on-sale license and an off-sale license may be located at the same location only if they are physically 

separated and operated independently of each other, and the privileges granted to each are to be 

exercised in a bona fide manner. 

 

In any case involving the denial of a priority license application, the applicant's priority position will be 

canceled and the fee refunded.   
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For a Period of Two (2) Years After Issuance of the Priority License:   

 

• The license shall not be transferable from the licensee to any other person except as provided in 

Section 24071, and only when the Department determines that the transfer is necessary to 

prevent undue hardship. 

 

• The licensee shall not, directly or indirectly, enter into any negotiations or agreements respecting 

the sale or transfer of the license, unless the Department has determined that undue hardship 

exists.  

 

• If an undue hardship transfer is authorized by the Department, an original priority license may 

not be sold for more than the original fee paid for the license.  

 

• Certain changes in ownership and interest within an entity holding a priority license are allowed 

before the above-described time periods elapse.  For instance, a corporation holding an original 

priority license may appoint new directors, elect new officers and transfer less than 50% of its 

outstanding stock within two years of license issuance.  However, a change in ownership/interest 

in such a licensed entity may not result in a person who had ownership/interest in another 

priority application for the same type of license and transaction, within the same county and 

year, obtaining ownership/interest in the licensed entity.  If this occurs, the license will be 

subject to administrative action which could result in its revocation. 

 

• The license shall not be exchanged for a public premises license, unless the licensee can show 

that a substantial public demand cannot otherwise be satisfied.  

 

 

Additional Restrictions on Intercounty Priority Licenses: 

 

• Generally, for a period of five years following issuance of an inter-county priority license, such 

license cannot be transferred for a purchase price exceeding the original priority fee paid to the 

Department within the past five years, regardless of amount(s) paid for the license in any 

previous transfer(s). 
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ELIGIBLE COUNTIES:  

 

This year, the following counties will be eligible for additional on-sale general and off-sale general licenses, 

as follows: 

 

County 

Original 

(New) 

On-Sale 

Original 

(New) 

Off-Sale 

Intercounty 

On-Sale 

Intercounty 

Off-Sale 

Alameda 

Alpine 

Contra Costa 

El Dorado 

Fresno  

Glenn 

Imperial 

Kern 

Kings  

Lassen 

Los Angeles 

Madera 

Merced 

Napa 

Orange 

Placer 

Riverside 

Sacramento 

San Benito 

San Bernardino 

San Diego 

San Joaquin 

San Mateo 

Santa Clara 

Santa Cruz 

Solano 

Stanislaus 

Sutter 

Tehama 

Tulare 

Ventura 

Yolo 

Yuba 

 

25 

2 

25 

0 

25 

1 

5 

25 

4 

1 

25 

5 

8 

5 

12 

0 

25 

25 

2 

25 

25 

25 

0 

8 

0 

16 

22 

4 

3 

15 

21 

9 

3 

25 

0 

25 

1 

3 

0 

4 

3 

0 

0 

25 

0 

1 

0 

25 

4 

25 

25 

0 

25 

25 

4 

24 

25 

8 

12 

0 

1 

2 

0 

2 

1 

0 

6 

0 

25 

0 

25 

0 

5 

25 

4 

0 

25 

5 

8 

0 

0 

0 

25 

25 

2 

25 

7 

25 

0 

0 

0 

16 

22 

1 

0 

15 

0 

9 

3 

25 

0 

25 

0 

0 

0 

0 

0 

0 

0 

25 

0 

0 

0 

25 

0 

25 

25 

0 

25 

25 

0 

24 

25 

0 

0 

0 

0 

0 

0 

0 

0 

0 
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LIST OF ABC OFFICES AND THEIR APPLICABLE COUNTIES: 
 

 

 
Alameda, Oakland District Office 

Contra Costa, 1515 Clay Street, Suite 2208 

Solano Phone: (510) 622-4970 

 

Alpine,  Sacramento District Office 

El Dorado, 2400 Del Paso Rd., Ste. 155 

Placer,  Phone: (916) 419-1319 

Sacramento,  

Sutter, Yolo,  

Yuba 

 

Fresno, Fresno District Office 

Kings, Madera, 1330-B East Shaw 

Tulare Phone: (559) 225-6334 

 

Glenn, Redding District Office 

Lassen,   1900 Churn Creek Rd, Suite 215 

Tehama Phone: (530) 224-4830 

 

Imperial Palm Desert District Office 

 34-160 Gateway Dr., Suite 120 

 Phone: (760) 324-2027 

 

Kern Bakersfield District Office 

 4800 Stockdale Hwy., Suite 213 

 Phone: (661) 395-2731 

 

Los Angeles, Monrovia District Office 

Northeastern 222 East Huntington Drive, Suite 114 

Area Phone: (626) 256-3241 

 

Los Angeles, LA/Metro District Office 

Central Area 888 South Figueroa Street, Suite 320 

Southern and Phone: (213) 833-6043 

Western Area 

 

Los Angeles, Lakewood District Office 

Southeastern  3950 Paramount Boulevard, Suite 250 

Area Phone: (562) 982-1337 

 

Los Angeles, Van Nuys District Office 

North and North- 6150 Van Nuys Boulevard, Rm. 220   

western Area Phone: (818) 901-5017 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merced, Stockton District Office 

San Joaquin, 31 E. Channel Street, Room 168 

Stanislaus Phone: (209) 948-7739 

 

Napa Santa Rosa District Office 

 50 D Street, Room 130 

 Phone: (707) 576-2165 

 

Orange Santa Ana District Office 

 2 MacArthur Place, # 200 

 Santa Ana, CA  92707 

 Phone: (657) 205-3533 

 

Riverside, Palm Desert District Office 

San Bernardino 34-160 Gateway Dr., Suite 120 

 Phone: (760) 324-2027 

             and 

 Riverside District Office 

 3737 Main Street, Suite 900 

 Phone: (951) 782-4400 

 

San Benito, Salinas District Office 

Santa Cruz 1137 Westridge Parkway 

 Phone: (831) 755-1990 

 

San Diego, San Diego District Office 

Southern Area 1350 Front Street, Room 5056 

 Phone: (619) 525-4064 

 

San Diego, San Marcos District Office 

Northern Area 570 Rancheros Dr., Ste. 240 

 Phone: (760) 471-4237 

 

San Francisco San Francisco District Office 

 33 New Montgomery St., Ste. 1230 

 Phone: (415) 356-6500 

 

Santa Clara & San Jose District Office 

San Mateo 100 Paseo de San Antonio, Rm. 119 

 Phone: (408) 277-1200 

 

Ventura  Ventura District Office 

 1000 South Hill Road, Suite 310 

 Phone: (805) 289-0100 

 

 



 

   
  

    

 
     

    

    

    

    

    
 

  
 

  
 

  
 

  
 

  
 

  
 

  

 

  
 

 
       

 
          

 
                    

       

 
                       

         
   

 
          

                  
                  

 

          
 

 
 
 

 

 

Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control  State of  California  

               
PRIORITY LICENSE APPLICATION 
Instructions: Complete and submit this form only after thoroughly reviewing Form ABC-521 INSTR. You may use the 
reverse side if you need additional space to disclose ownership information.  You must also submit a certified check, 
cashier's check, or money order in the amount of the application fee.

 
   

DATE LICENSE TRANSACTION  

ORIGINAL  INTERCOUNTY  TRANSFER  

LICENSE TYPE  

                                 
RESTAURANT, BAR, CLUB

ON-SALE GENERAL
(

 
)

BREWPUB OFF-SALE GENERAL (STORE)  

COUNTY WHERE BUSINESS TO BE LOCATED APPLICANT(S) NAME (Print) 

MAILING ADDRESS (Street  number and na me, city, state, zip code)  PHONE NUMBER  

TYPE OF  OWNERSHIP (Check  one)  

Sole Owner Partnership Limited  Partnership  (LP)  Corporation Limited  Liability  Company  (LLC)  Other 

• LIST ALL OFFICERS, DIRECTORS,  GENERAL PARTNERS (if LP) AND  MANAGERS (if LLC) OF THE APPLICANT, AND THEIR TITLES 
PRINTED NAME TITLE PRINTED NAME TITLE 

PRINTED NAME TITLE PRINTED NAME TITLE 

PRINTED NAME TITLE PRINTED NAME TITLE 

PRINTED NAME TITLE PRINTED NAME TITLE 

• LIST ALL STOCKHOLDERS, LIMITED PARTNERS OR LLC MEMBERS OF THE APPLICANT, AND THEIR PERCENTAGE OFOWNERSHIP
(MUST TOTAL 100%) 

PRINTED NAME 

% 

PRINTED NAME 

% 
PRINTED NAME 

% 

PRINTED NAME 

% 
PRINTED NAME 

% 

PRINTED NAME 

% 
PRINTED NAME 

% 

PRINTED NAME 

% 

1. Applicant has read and acknowledges all provisions, requirements and restrictions set forth in Form ABC-521 INSTR.

2. In order to participate in a priority drawing, applicant acknowledges they must be a California resident for at least 90 days prior to
the date of the drawing.  Failure to meet this requirement will result in the applicant being disqualified.

3. Applicant agrees that the Application for Alcoholic Beverage License, Form ABC-211, will be submitted within ninety (90) days of 
notification of eligibility to file the formal application. The application will be made in the same name(s) as it appear(s) above.

4. Applicant agrees that they will not make a formal application at a location at which they holds any interest in a license of the same
type, whether in active status or surrendered to the Department pursuant to Department Rule 65, and will not apply at any location
actively licensed with the same type of license.

5. Applicant certifies they have no interest in any other priority application for the same type of license ("on-sale", "off-sale") and
transaction ("original", "intercounty transfer") in the same county and acknowledges that any changes in ownership or interest in the
applicant entity made after the application is submitted may be grounds for disqualification from the priority licensing process.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the information provided on this form is true and correct and do hereby apply for a priority license as 
indicated above. 

APPLICANT SIGNATURE* PRINTED NAME AND TITLE  DATE EXECUTED  

      *This form to be notarized if not signed in the presence of an ABC employee
ABC-521 (rev. 07/20) 

https://www.abc.ca.gov/form/abc-521-instr/
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