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Introduction 
Each year the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) issues nearly 33,000 
“Daily” licenses to non-profit organizations a year. The success of these events is 
vital to the organizations that sponsor them and to the community. The events provide 
entertainment and benefit many worthy causes. 

 
However, the uncontrolled sale and service of alcoholic beverages at these events can 
create serious problems. These problems include intoxication, fights, vandalism, and 
underage drinking. These problems affect the organization, the alcohol seller/server 
and the general public. For example, if alcohol is served to a person under age 21, the 
server can face arrest, fines or community service work. In cases where the minor 
injuries himself or someone else, the server could face a jail term; and both the server 
and the organization could be sued civilly. A national survey of adults; showed over 
80% of respondents were in favor of alcohol restrictions at concerts and stadiums. 

 
These model policies are designed to help you prevent alcohol-related problems 
before they occur. The content in this pamphlet are suggestions and does not 
constitute legal advice by the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.  

 
If you have any questions about the information in this pamphlet, call your local ABC 
District Office or contact the LEAD Program at:  LEADinfo@abc.ca.gov. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

These model policies were developed in 1992 in cooperation with the California 
Department of Food and Agriculture, Division of Fairs and Expositions, HOME 
TEAM, a project of the Public Health Foundation of Los Angeles County, Inc., 
and members of the California fair industry's Alcohol Advisory Committee. 
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Sample Alcohol Management Policies 
For Large “Daily” Licenses, Special  

Events & Large Venues 
 
 

GOAL 
It is the goal of event management to educate and provide entertainment while 
ensuring that patrons attending events have an enjoyable visit in a safe environment. 
The responsible management of alcohol is a key component of achieving this goal. It 
is the responsibility of every worker to participate in this effort as a team. 

 
Therefore, we encourage every worker to carefully read the following alcohol 
policies and procedures. They are designed to assist all of us in preventing and 
reducing problems associated with alcohol use, and to create a safe environment for 
our patrons. 

 

POLICIES 
Admissions 

 
• Persons intoxicated at the event may be (ejected/arrested/offered a safe ride). 

(We recommend this item be discussed with local law enforcement.) 

• Patrons (will/will not) receive a refund if ejected. 
 

Sale of Alcoholic Beverages 

• All servers will be professionally trained in responsible beverage service, 
required to read our event's policies and procedures and sign a Server 
Responsibility Statement as per the attached example. 

 
• (Event management/Law enforcement) reserves the right to stop or restrict 

alcohol sales at any time. (We recommend this item be discussed with local law 
enforcement.) 

• Servers must be at least 21 years of age to sell or serve alcohol. 

• Servers may not consume alcohol while on duty because alcohol impairs 
your ability to perform your duties. 

• Patrons must be at least 21 years old to be served alcohol. 
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• All patrons must show bona fide (legally acceptable) I.D. An I.D. is legally 
acceptable if it: (We recommend this item be discussed with local law 
enforcement.) 

Examples of legally acceptable I.D.'s are: 
• Driver's license 
• State-issued identification card 
• Military identification card 
• Passport 

Examples of unacceptable I.D.'s are: 
• Temporary driver's licenses 
• Non-photo driver's licenses 
• Expired driver’s licenses 
• Expired State-issued identification card 
• Receipts for license from DMV 
• Birth certificates 
• School or work I.D. cards 
• Social security card 

You may have a policy that is stricter than the law. (Based on the above, decide 
what will be acceptable I.D. at your event.) 

 
• If a patron shows a false I.D.,  (please insert your own recommended 

procedure). Below is an example of a policy you may want to adapt for your 
event: (We recommend you discuss this with local law enforcement.) 

 
• A false I.D. is any altered, borrowed, stolen, counterfeit or 

forged I.D. 

• If a false I.D. is presented, immediately contact security. 

• Inform the patron that you are calling security and will 
temporarily hold the I.D. until security arrives. 

 
• If the patron chooses to leave without the I.D. before security 

arrives, the I.D. has become abandoned property. 
 

• If the patron remains until security arrives, security will make a 
determination on whether the I.D. is acceptable. 

 
• If it is determined that the I.D. is false, it will be confiscated by 

security, and the patron will be detained. 
 

NOTE: The law says licensees and their agents or employees may 
seize any I.D. that shows the patron to be under the age of 21 
years or that is false. If you seize an I.D. you must give a 
receipt to the patron and turn the I.D. over to the local police 
or sheriff's department within 24 hours of seizure. Seizing an 
I.D. does not create any civil or criminal liability. 

 
• Alcohol service will cease at  p.m. (We recommend one to two hours before 

the event closes.) 
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• A limit of  beers per person, per purchase will be served. (We recommend a 
maximum of two beers per person, per purchase.) 

• Cups for beer will not exceed  oz. (We recommend 14-16 oz.) 

• Cups for soft drinks will be a different color than the cups used for alcoholic beverages. 

• Patrons who are either impaired or obviously intoxicated will not be served. 
 

Enforcement/Intervention 

(We recommend you discuss this entire section with local law enforcement.) 

• Minors caught drinking will (describe how event management and law 
enforcement will deal with minors in possession). An example of a policy you 
may want to adapt for your event is: 

 
• Underage drinkers or persons passing alcohol to underage 

patrons will be informed of the event's policy and of the law. 

• The underage drinker will be asked to pour out his/her beer. 

• An incident report will be completed. 

• If a patron is observed passing alcohol to an underage patron, 
after having been informed of the event's policies and the law, 
that person and the underage drinker will be ejected from the 
event and a field interview/report will be completed. 

 
• All workers and servers are to notify either their supervisor or security when they 

observe a person who is impaired or obviously intoxicated. 
 

• Event management will coordinate and communicate with local law 
enforcement to ensure that policies and procedures will be carried out. 

 
• Documentation by security, alcohol servers, medical personnel, etc. will be 

completed and submitted to event management for any actual (or potential) 
incidents. (A sample incident log is attached.) 

 
• Persons in possession of unlawful items (e.g., weapons, drugs, false I.D.'s) will 

be dealt with by security in the following way: 
 

 
Public Awareness 

• Alcohol policies will be posted at all alcohol stands. Examples of policies that 
you may want to post are: 

• You must be 21 to purchase alcohol 

• You will be required to show proof of age to be served alcohol 
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• There is a limit of (  ) beers per person, per purchase 

• Alcohol service will cease at (  ) p.m. 

• Intoxicated patrons will not be served 

(To ensure a comprehensive and consistent approach, you may want to make the 
above signs available to the vendors.) 

 

• Announcements regarding not drinking and driving will be made whenever 
possible during the event. 

 
• Any other press, public relations or signage efforts (posters, ride share 

information for impaired patrons, program inserts, etc.) should be described 
here. 

 
• If many of your attendees are non-English speakers, we recommend you make 

signage available in that language(s). 
 
 
 

 
 
 

Server Responsibility Statement 
 

Server: Read and Sign 
I understand that our event is dedicated to the safe and responsible sale and 
service of alcohol. 

 
I will not knowingly serve alcohol to an underage or obviously intoxicated 
person. I will report any signs of illegal activity to management. 

I will not consume alcoholic beverages while on duty. 

I have read and understand our policies. I understand that if I follow these 
policies, management will fully support my decisions. 

 
I also recognize that my failure to follow these policies may result in negative 
consequences for myself and/or the non-profit organization. 

 
 
 
 
 

Employee Signature Date 



Illustration No. 1 ABC-607 (11/00)  

7. EMPLOYEE'S NAME (First, middle, last) EMPLOYEE'S PHONE NUMBER 

State of California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

INCIDENT LOG 
 

Instructions: Complete an Incident Log for each patron involved. 
If you see a drunk driver, call 1-800-TELL-CHP 

INCIDENT DATE INCIDENT TIME 

PATRON INFORMATION 
1. PATRON'S NAME (First, middle, last) PATRON'S PHONE NUMBER 

ADDRESS (Street number and name, city, state, zip code) PATRON'S EMPLOYER 

2. PATRON WAS INJURED 
YES NO 

IF YES, ON WHAT PART OF BODY MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS GIVEN 
YES NO 

HOSPITALIZATION REQUIRED 
YES NO 

3. PATRON WAS A MINOR 
YES NO 

IDENTIFICATION WAS CHECKED 
YES NO 

DESCRIPTION OF IDENTIFICATION SHOWN 

4. WHERE WAS PATRON BEFORE YOUR PLACE 
 

5. HOW DID PATRON CONTRIBUTE TO HIS/HER INJURY 
 
 
 

EMPLOYEE INFORMATION 

 ADDRESS    (Street number and name, city, state, zip code) 
 

ADDRESS    (Street number and name, city, state, zip code) 
 

INCIDENT INFORMATION 
8. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE RELATED INCIDENT 

YES NO 
9. DRINK(S) SERVED (Number and type) 

10. POLICE WERE NOTIFIED 
YES NO 

IF YES, BY WHOM WHAT POLICE AGENCY DATE OF CALL TIME OF CALL 

11. HOW WAS INCIDENT BROUGHT TO YOUR ATTENTION 
 

12. DESCRIBE INCIDENT (Including action you took to prevent or control the incident) 
 
 
 
 

 

 
WITNESS INFORMATION 

Continued on reverse 

 

13. WITNESS' NAME(First, middle, last) WITNESS' PHONE NUMBER 

ADDRESS (Street number and name, city, state, zip code) WITNESS' EMPLOYER 

14. WITNESS' NAME(First, middle, last) WITNESS' PHONE NUMBER 

ADDRESS (Street number and name, city, state, zip code) WITNESS' EMPLOYER 

 
15. SIGNATURE OF PERSON MAKING REPORT 

X 
PERSON'S TITLE REPORT DATE 

6. EMPLOYEE'S NAME (First, middle, last) EMPLOYEE'S PHONE NUMBER 
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