### **PART 5: NOTICE TO LICENSEE**

#### (Licensee Must Read This Section, Then Post Sign In Store)

Pursuant to Section 25658.4 of the Business and Professions Code, you must post a sign in your store that warns customers about certain laws and penalties relating to the sale of alcoholic beverages to, or the purchase of alcoholic beverages by, any person under the age of 21 years. The sign must be placed at an entrance or at a point of sale in your store, or in any other location in your store that is visible to your customers and employees. A sample sign that complies with Section 25658.4(b) and (c) is shown on the following page.

## **NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS** Pursuant to Section 25658.4 Business and Professions Code

This store will not sell alcoholic beverages in violation of the California Alcoholic Beverage Control Act.

*We will refuse to sell an alcoholic beverage to any customer if we reasonably suspect that:* (1) The customer is under the age of 21 years; (2) The customer looks or acts intoxicated; (3) The request to buy an alcoholic beverage is made between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on any day or in violation of legally required shorter hours of sale; (4) The customer intends to drink the alcoholic beverage in this store or on adjacent property immediately outside this store; or (5) Any other violation of the California Alcoholic Beverage Control Act will occur as a result of the sale.

# **FINES AND PENALTIES**

for the Sale or Furnishing of Alcoholic Beverages to, or the Purchase of Alcoholic Beverages by, Persons Under Age 21

#### For the Person Under Age 21 Who Tries to Purchase Alcohol

Up to \$100 fine and/or 24-32 hours of community service; second offense, up to a \$250 fine and/or 36-48 hours of community service (and a one-year suspension or delay of the person's driver's license).

### For the Person Under Age 21 Who Purchases Alcohol

A \$250 fine and/or 24-32 hours of community service; second offense, up to a \$500 fine and/or 36-48 hours of community service (and a one-year suspension or delay of the purchaser's driver's license).

#### For the Person Who <u>Furnishes</u> Alcohol <u>or Causes</u> Alcohol to be Furnished to a Person Under Age 21

A \$1,000 fine and at least 24 hours of community service (and a one-year suspension or delay of the furnisher's driver's license if the furnisher is under age 21). If great bodily injury or death occurs, the penalty is 6-12 months county jail and/or a \$1,000 fine.

#### For the Person Who <u>Sells</u> Alcohol to a Person Under Age 21

A \$250 fine and/or 24-32 hours of community service; second offense, up to a \$500 fine and/or 36-48 hours of community service (and a one-year suspension or delay of the seller's driver's license if the seller is under age 21).

In addition, the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) will file charges to suspend or revoke this store's license to sell alcoholic beverages.

--The Management

ABC-299 (01/11)