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Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

ISSUANCE OF ORIGINAL AND INTERCOUNTY 
TRANSFER OF ON-SALE GENERAL AND OFF-
SALE GENERAL LICENSES 

State of California 
Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor 

 

 
Instructions:  Please read this entire form before filing your application. 
 
 
INTRODUCTION: 
 

Licenses to sell beer and wine are available year-round from the State if the applicant and the premises 
qualify.  However, general licenses, which authorize the retail sale of beer, wine and distilled spirits, are 
restricted in number and are authorized to be issued originally and via inter-county transfer only once per 
year, based upon population vs. existing license ratios within each county.1 Where there are more applicants 
than licenses available, public drawings are held and “priority” rankings are assigned.  Licenses applied for 
and issued via the priority system are subject to unique requirements and restrictions.  The only other way to 
obtain a general license is to purchase an existing license from someone who has one already within the 
same county. 
 

 
PRIORITY FILING PERIOD: 
 

During the period of September 12 - 23, 2016, ABC offices will accept applications for priority licenses in 
eligible counties (see page 7).    
 
 

PRIORITY APPLICATION FEES: 
 
• Original On-Sale General      $13,800 
• Original Off-Sale General    $13,800 
• Inter-county Transfer On-Sale General  $6,000 
• Inter-county Transfer Off-Sale General $6,000 
 
The priority application fee must be paid by certified check, cashier's check, or money order only.  Additional 
fees (i.e.; fingerprint, annual fees, etc.) are to be collected at the time of filing the formal application.   
 
Unsuccessful drawing participants, as well as applicants whose priority applications are withdrawn or denied, 
will receive a refund of the application fee, less a $100 service charge.  If an applicant owes money to California 
taxing agencies (Board of Equalization, Franchise Tax Board or Employment Development Department), a 
claim against the priority application fee may be made by the taxing agency.  If such a claim is made, the amount 
owed will be deducted from the priority application fee at the time of refund and remitted to the taxing agency. 
 

 
NAME(S) ON PRIORITY APPLICATION: 

 
The application for a priority license must include the names of all persons or entities who have  
an ownership interest in the priority application or in the business to be licensed.  Failure to do so is 
grounds for disqualification and loss of priority status.  There can be no "hidden owners" or "silent 
partners".  

 
 
                         
1Article XX. Section 22 of the State Constitution and Sections 23793, 23816, 23817, 23821, 23954.5, 23961, 23962, 24070, 24071, 24072,  
and 24079 of the ABC Act, and Rule 60.2 of Division 1, Title 4 of the California Code of Regulations 



ABC-521 (7/16)  2 

RESIDENCY: 
 

To be eligible to participate in a priority drawing, an applicant must have been a resident of California 
for at least 90 days prior to the date of the drawing.  If a drawing is necessary, an applicant for a priority 
license will be required to prove residency via submission of the below described documents: 
 

• Individuals — Proof of residency can be established via documents such as a California Driver 
License, utility bills, voter registration, etc.   

 
• Partnerships — Each partner must provide proof of residency; see information under 

“Individuals”, above. 
 

• Corporations — The 90-day residence begins with the date its Articles of Incorporation are filed 
with the Secretary of State. For out-of-state corporations, the 90-day residency begins with the 
date registered with the Secretary of State to do business in California.   

 
• Limited Partnerships — The 90-day residency begins with the date the form LP-1 is filed with 

the Secretary of State.  For out-of-state limited partnerships, the 90-day residency begins with 
the date registered with the Secretary of State to do business in California. 

 
• Limited Liability Companies — The 90-day residency begins with the date the form LLC-1 is 

filed with the Secretary of State.  For out-of-state limited liability companies, the 90-day 
residency begins with the date registered with the Secretary of State to do business in California. 

 
 

FILING THE PRIORITY APPLICATION: 
 

Applications may be filed in person by going to one of the ABC offices listed on Page 8 or by mail.  
You may file your application at the local ABC office overseeing the county where your proposed 
premises will be located, or at any local ABC office that is more convenient for you.  During the priority 
period, ABC offices will be open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.   
 
Deadline: 
 

• In person:  On Friday, September 23, 2016, only those applicants within the doors of the office 
by 5:00 p.m. may file priority applications. 
 

• By mail:   Your envelope containing Items (1) through (2) below must be postmarked on or 
before Friday, September 23, 2016. 

 
The following items are required: 
 

(1) Fee - certified check, cashier's check or money order, payable to: Alcoholic Beverage Control.  
 

(2) Form ABC-521-1, Priority License Application– To be completed in full by all applicants, 
including previously qualified ‘P-12’ licensees.   The application requires a single signature on 
behalf of the applicant entity.  If not signed in the presence of an ABC employee, the application 
must be notarized.  In signing Form ABC-521-1, the applicant agrees to comply with conditions 
and requirements unique to the established priority licensing process.  Failure to comply with 
the conditions and requirements may result in automatic withdrawal of the application and 
cancellation of an applicant’s priority position. 

 
An incomplete or inaccurate application will not be accepted and will likely make the applicant 
ineligible for a priority license.  
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CONDITIONS AND RESTRICTIONS: 
 

Applicant: 
 
No person or entity who files for a priority license may have an interest in any other priority application for 
the same type of license in the same county and drawing. However, an applicant for an original general 
license may also file an application for the inter-county transfer of a general license of the same type in the 
same county. 
 

• Applicants may not pool funds to file more than one priority application for the same type of license 
and transaction. 
 

• A married couple may file only one priority application for the same type of license and transaction. 
 
• No corporation, limited partnership or limited liability company may file a priority application if it 

holds the interest in another entity that has filed for the same type of license and transaction in the 
same county. 

 
• If more than one corporation, limited partnership or limited liability company is a subsidiary of the 

same parent, only one may file a priority application for the same type of license and transaction.  
 

• A person or entity who holds ownership interest in a priority applicant entity, or who is a principal 
(officer, director, LLC manager, general partner, etc.) of an applicant entity, may not hold interest in 
or be a principal of another applicant entity for the same type of license and transaction in the same 
county.  

 
Each priority application must show the names of all persons having an interest in the license application and 
related business, including all: 

 
• Partners 
• General and limited partners of a Limited Partnership  
• Corporate officers and directors 
• Stockholders or prospective stockholders  
• Limited liability company officers, managers, and members  

 
Additional partners may not be added after the priority application period.  Any changes in ownership or 
management that occur within an applicant entity between the time of filing a priority application and actual 
issuance of a priority license which results in the entity, via its principals or owners, having more than one 
opportunity in a single priority drawing, will be cause for disqualification. 
 

 
PRIORITY OF APPLICANTS 

 
If the number of applicants is equal to or less than the number of licenses available, all applicants will be 
notified that they have 90 days to complete a formal application for their specific premises.   
 
If there are more applicants than licenses available, a public drawing will be held; the time, date, and 
place of any drawing will be posted on the ABC website (www.abc.ca.gov).  After the drawing is held, 
the Department will notify each applicant by mail of their priority position.   
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Successful Drawing Participants:   
 

• A successful drawing participant is one whose priority position (number) is not higher than the 
number of licenses available.  These applicants will be notified that they have 90 days to complete a 
formal application for their specific premises.  
 

• The priority application fee, less service charge, will be refunded to successful drawing 
participants who later withdraw their applications (See Application Fees [page 1] regarding 
claims by California taxing agencies). 

 
Unsuccessful Drawing Participants:   
 

• An unsuccessful drawing participant is one whose priority position (number) is higher than the 
number of licenses available.   

 
• The priority application fee, less a $100 service charge, will be automatically refunded to each 

unsuccessful drawing participant.  Refund checks will be mailed within 90 days of the priority 
drawing (See Application Fees [page 1] regarding claims by California taxing agencies). 

 
• Unsuccessful drawing participants will maintain the priority position assigned at the priority 

drawing.  In the event a successful applicant is disqualified or withdraws, the next drawing 
participant in order of priority will be contacted and will have 30 days to repay the previously 
refunded priority application fee, and an additional 60 days to file a formal application. 

 
• In order to maintain priority position, unsuccessful drawing participants are encouraged to 

notify ABC of any change in mailing address that occurs while the priority drawing lists are 
active.  

 
Expiration of Priority:  Priority drawing lists automatically expire the day before the following year’s list 
is established.   

 
 
FORMAL APPLICATION FOR PRIORITY LICENSE: 
 

A priority applicant must file a formal application for specific premises within 90 days of notification 
from the Department of authorization to do so. Failure to file formal application within 90 days will 
result in loss of priority position and the opportunity to apply will be extended to the next applicant on 
the list.  In addition to the below, all statutory requirements and Departmental procedures set forth for 
issuing other original retail licenses apply to formal applications for priority licenses.  
 
Proof of Tenancy:   
 
At the time of filing the formal application, a priority applicant must present proof of a two-year right of 
tenancy (rental agreement, lease, grant deed, etc.) at the applied-for premises.  As the required two-year 
tenancy requirement starts when the license issues and there is no guarantee that a license will be 
granted, it is suggested that any financial agreements be contingent upon actual issuance of the priority 
license. 
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Premises: 
 
At the time of filing formal application, an on-sale general priority applicant is to designate planned 
operation as one of the below: 
 

(1) A bona fide public eating place as defined by Business and Professions Code section 23038; or 
 
(2) A public premises as defined by Business and Professions Code section 23039, but only if the 

applicant is able to establish during the formal application process that substantial public demand for 
issuance of the license cannot otherwise be satisfied; or 

 
(3) A club as defined and authorized by Business and Professions Code sections 23037 and  
      23399.2. 
 

Generally, an applicant for a priority license may only make formal application at a location not  
currently licensed with the same license type.  Under certain circumstances, the department may allow 
formal application to be made at a location already licensed with the same license type if: 
 

(1) The applicant holds no ownership interest in the existing license and there is no conflicting 
business relationship or arrangement between the applicant and the existing license holder, and; 
 

(2) The existing license is surrendered under Rule 65 at or before filing of the formal application 
and remains surrendered throughout the application process (unless transferred to another 
premises). 

 
Once formal application for a priority license has been made, no change in the location of the applied-
for license will be permitted after the expiration of the 90-day period in which the priority application 
must be filed, except for causes beyond the control of the applicant and with approval of the ABC 
Director. 
 
An on-sale license and an off-sale license may be located at the same location only if they are physically 
separated and operated independently of each other, and the privileges granted to each are to be 
exercised in a bona fide manner. 
 
In any case involving the denial of a priority license application, the applicant's priority position will be 
canceled and the fee refunded.   
 
For a Period of Two (2) Years After Issuance of the Priority License:   
 

• The license shall not be transferable from the licensee to any other person except as provided in 
Section 24071, and only when the Department determines that the transfer is necessary to 
prevent undue hardship. 

 
• The licensee shall not, directly or indirectly, enter into any negotiations or agreements 

respecting the sale or transfer of the license, unless the Department has determined that undue 
hardship exists.  

 
• If an undue hardship transfer is authorized by the Department, an original priority license may 

not be sold for more than the original fee paid for the license.  
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• Certain changes in ownership and interest within an entity holding a priority license are allowed 
before the above-described time periods elapse.  For instance, a corporation holding an original 
priority license may appoint new directors, elect new officers and transfer less than 50% of its 
outstanding stock within two years of license issuance.  However, a change in 
ownership/interest in such a licensed entity may not result in a person who had 
ownership/interest in another priority application for the same type of license and transaction, 
within the same county and year, obtaining ownership/interest in the licensed entity.  If this 
occurs, the license will be subject to administrative action which could result in its revocation. 

 
• The license shall not be exchanged for a public premises license, unless the licensee can show 

that a substantial public demand cannot otherwise be satisfied.  
 

 
Additional Restrictions on Inter-County Priority Licenses: 
 

• Generally, an inter-county priority license cannot be sold for more than $13,800 for a period of 
five years following issuance. In rare cases involving the inter-county transfer of a license 
originally issued within the past five years, such license cannot be sold for more than $6,000 for 
a period of five years following the transferring license’s original issuance date.  
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ELIGIBLE COUNTIES:  
 
This year, the following counties will be eligible for additional on-sale general and off-sale general licenses, 
as follows: 
 

County 
Original 

(New) 
On-Sale 

Original 
(New) 

Off-Sale 

Intercounty 
On-Sale 

Intercounty 
Off-Sale 

Alameda 
Alpine 
Butte 
Contra Costa 
Fresno  
Glenn 
Imperial 
Kern 
Kings  
Los Angeles 
Madera 
Marin 
Merced 
Monterey 
Orange 
Placer 
Riverside 
Sacramento 
San Benito 
San Bernardino 
San Diego 
San Joaquin 
San Luis Obispo 
San Mateo 
Santa Barbara 
Santa Clara 
Santa Cruz 
Solano 
Sonoma 
Stanislaus 
Sutter 
Tehama 
Tulare 
Ventura 
Yolo 
Yuba 
 

25 
4 
9 

25 
25 
1 
6 

25 
4 

25 
5 
0 
7 

18 
25 
14 
25 
25 
2 

25 
25 
25 
0 
8 

11 
25 
4 

15 
0 

21 
4 
3 

15 
25 
9 
3 

25 
0 
1 

25 
6 
0 
7 
5 
0 

25 
0 
1 
2 
7 

25 
4 

25 
25 
0 

25 
25 
9 
1 

25 
3 

25 
10 
16 
2 
3 
0 
0 
2 

13 
3 
0 

25 
0 
0 

25 
25 
1 
6 

25 
4 

25 
5 
0 
7 
0 

25 
0 

25 
25 
2 

25 
25 
25 
0 
0 
0 

25 
0 

15 
0 

21 
1 
0 

15 
10 
9 
3 

25 
0 
0 

25 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

25 
0 
0 
0 
0 

25 
0 

25 
25 
0 

25 
25 
0 
0 

25 
0 

25 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
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ABC OFFICES: 
 
You may file your application at the ABC office that oversees the county where your proposed 
premises will be located; or at any local ABC office that is more convenient for you: 
 

 
These Are handled by 
counties: this ABC office: 
 
Alameda, Oakland District Office 
Contra Costa, 1515 Clay Street, Suite 2208 
Solano Phone: (510) 622-4970 
 
 
Alpine, Sacramento District Office 
Placer, Yolo, 2400 Del Paso Rd., Ste. 155 
Yuba, Sutter Phone:  (916) 419-1319 
Sacramento 
 
Fresno, Fresno District Office 
Kings, Madera, 3640 East Ashlan Avenue 
Tulare Phone: (559) 225-6334 
 
Imperial Palm Desert District Office 
 34-160 Gateway Dr., Suite 120 
 Phone: (760) 324-2027 
 
Kern Bakersfield District Office 
 4800 Stockdale Hwy., Suite 213 
 Phone: (661) 395-2731 
 
Los Angeles, Monrovia District Office 
Northeastern 222 East Huntington Drive, Suite 114 
Area Phone: (626) 256-3241 
 
Los Angeles, LA/Metro District Office 
Central Area 888 South Figueroa Street, Suite 320 
Southern and Phone: (213) 833-6043 
Western Area 
 
Los Angeles, Lakewood District Office 
Southeastern  3950 Paramount Boulevard, Suite 250 
Area Phone: (562) 982-1337 
 
Los Angeles, Van Nuys District Office 
North and North- 6150 Van Nuys Boulevard, Rm. 220   
western Area Phone: (818) 901-5017 
 
Merced, Stockton District Office 
San Joaquin, 31 E. Channel Street, Room 168 
Stanislaus Phone: (209) 948-7739 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
These Are handled by 
counties: this ABC office: 

 
Monterey, Salinas District Office 
San Benito, 1137 Westridge Parkway 
Santa Cruz Phone: (831) 755-1990 
 
Marin, Santa Rosa District Office 
Napa, 50 D Street, Room 130 
Sonoma Phone: (707) 576-2165 
 
Orange Santa Ana District Office 
 605 W. Santa Ana Blvd. 
 Bldg. 28, Ste. 369 
 Phone: (714) 558-4101 
 
Riverside, Palm Desert District Office 
San Bernardino 34-160 Gateway Dr., Suite 120 
 Phone: (760) 324-2027 
             and 
 Riverside District Office 
 3737 Main Street, Suite 900 
 Phone: (951) 782-4400 
 
San Diego, San Diego District Office 
Southern Area 1350 Front Street, Room 5056 
 Phone: (619) 525-4064 
 
San Diego, San Marcos District Office 
Northern Area 570 Rancheros Dr., Ste. 240 
 Phone: (760) 471-4237 
 
San Luis Obispo San Luis Obispo Branch Office 
& Santa Barbara, 3220 South Higuera, Suite 233 
Northern Area Phone: (805) 543-7183 
 
San Mateo San Francisco District Office 
 33 New Montgomery St., Ste. 1230 
 Phone: (415) 356-6500 
 
Ventura & Ventura District Office 
Santa Barbara, 1000 South Hill Road, Suite 310 
Southern Area Phone: (805) 289-0100 
 
Santa Clara San Jose District Office 
 100 Paseo de San Antonio, Rm. 119 
 Phone: (408) 277-1200 
 
Butte, Glenn, Redding District Office 
Shasta, Tehama 1900 Churn Creek Rd., Suite 215 
 Phone: (530) 224-4830

 


