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Placer County Law Enforcement Agencies Team Up to Reduce Alcohol-Related Crime 

Dozens of Citations Issued in past Five Months 
 

Placer County – Placer County law enforcement agencies have issued 27 sales to minor citations and also cited 
15 individuals who purchased alcohol and gave it to a minor. The violations occurred during the past five 
months. Law enforcement teams have been working with (ABC) Alcoholic Beverage Control agents to try to 
reduce underage drinking and increase compliance with alcoholic beverage laws in communities throughout 
Placer County. Authorities have conducted several operations between August and December. The operations 
have been funded through a grant from the California ABC. 
 
ABC awarded a $99,760 grant to the Placer County Sheriff’s Department through the Department’s Grant 
Assistance Program (GAP). The grant is shared with the Placer County Sheriff’s Department, Roseville, 
Rocklin, Auburn and Lincoln Police Departments. Since August, teams with personnel from the Placer County 
Sheriff’s Department, Roseville, Rocklin and Auburn Police Departments have issued 27 citations for selling 
alcohol to minors, 15 citations for furnishing alcohol to minors, a citation to a minor for possessing illegal drugs 
and a citation for an adult who was in possession of illegal drugs. 
 
Officers conducted Minor Decoy, Shoulder Tap Decoy and IMPACT inspections. Minor decoy operations 
involve minors who work under the direct supervision of law enforcement. They attempt to purchase alcohol 
from retail licensees. Those who sell alcohol to a minor face a minimum fine of $250 and the business where 
the illegal sale occurred may face disciplinary action. Under a Shoulder Tap Decoy Operation, a minor under the 
direct supervision of a peace officer will stand outside a liquor or convenience store and ask patrons to buy them 
alcohol.  The minor indicates in some way he or she is underage and cannot purchase the alcohol. If the adults 
agree to buy the alcohol for the minor decoy, investigators arrest and cite them for furnishing alcohol to the 
minor.  The penalty for furnishing alcohol to a minor is a minimum $1,000 fine and community service.   
 
The IMPACT program teams ABC agents with local law enforcement who visit licensed establishments. 
IMPACT stands for Informed Merchants Preventing Alcohol Crime Tendencies. The primary objective is to 
educate licensees about the various ways they can reduce alcohol-related crimes such as sales to underage and 
obviously intoxicated persons. The inspections combine municipal and state law enforcement personnel in a 
highly visible way. IMPACT teams remind licensees of the responsibilities and accountability associated with 
the sale of alcoholic beverages. This is accomplished by identifying areas of non-compliance and providing 
crime prevention information. The focus is to educate rather than to enforce. Even though the teams are 
prevention oriented, members may take action against any major violations observed during the inspections. 
 
Placer County authorities and the California ABC are trying to reduce youth access to alcohol. Statistics show 
minors generally have a higher rate of drunken driving crashes than adults. According to the American Medical 
Association, underage drinking can increase chances of risky sexual behavior and teen pregnancy, juvenile 
delinquency, compromise health and result in unintentional injury and death.  
 
ABC is a Department of the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency. 
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