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CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL STEPS UP CHICO 

ENFORCEMENT EFFORTS TO ENHANCE SAFETY FOR CHICO AREA YOUTH 
 
 
CHICO– As students at California State University, Chico head back to class, the California 

Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) today announced it is sending investigators to help 
the California State University-Chico Police, and the Chico City Police Departments try to reduce the 
number of businesses selling alcohol to minors and target adults who are furnishing alcohol to 
underage individuals. 

 
“Over 200 Californians under the age of 21 died in alcohol-related crashes during the year 2005, that is 
too great a loss,” ABC Director Jerry Jolly said. 

 
Jolly said enforcement efforts will focus primarily on reducing underage drinking which could result in 
a reduction of youth-related traffic collisions and deaths. The efforts will also attempt to increase 
compliance with ABC laws by businesses that sell alcohol. 
 
The ABC is working with local police, colleges, and youth organizations such as Friday Night Live to 
crack down on underage drinking. 

 
The ABC will use Minor Decoy and Decoy Shoulder Tap Operations in its effort to make communities 
safer. A Minor Decoy Operation involves minors under the direct supervision of the investigators, 
attempting to purchase alcohol from retail licensees. Those who sell to the minor face a minimum $250 
fine and ABC may take action against the business where the sale occurred. That could include a fine, a 
suspension or revocation of the license. 
 
Decoy Shoulder Tap Operations target adults who purchase alcohol for people less than 21 years of 
age.  Under the program, a minor under the direct supervision of a peace officer will stand outside a 
licensed business that sells alcohol and ask patrons to buy them alcohol.  The minor indicates in some 
way he or she is underage and cannot purchase the alcohol.  If the adults comply, investigators then 
arrest and cite them for furnishing alcohol to the minor. The penalty for furnishing alcohol to a minor is 
a minimum $1,000 fine and 24 hours of community service. 
 
Funding for the enforcement comes from the California Office of Traffic Safety through the Business, 
Transportation and Housing Agency. ABC is a department of the Business, Transportation and 
Housing Agency, which is under the direction of Secretary Sunne Wright McPeak, a member of the 
Governor’s Cabinet.  
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