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ABC and Salinas Police Cite 3 Cab Drivers for 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
  

(Salinas, Monterey County) – Investigators of the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
(ABC) and Officers from the Salinas Police Department cited three cab drivers for furnishing alcohol to 
minors. The actions were the result of a compliance check operation on Friday, December 22, 2006 in which 
minors under the direct supervision of the investigators attempted to have cab drivers purchase alcohol for 
them and then deliver the alcohol to them at an undisclosed location. All three cab drivers who were 
contacted furnished the alcohol to the minors, which is illegal. 

Those who furnish alcohol to minors face a minimum fine of $1000, and/or 24 to 32 hours of community 
service for a first violation.  

ABC organized the decoy operation after receiving complaints from the community that persons under the 
age of 21 were calling cab companies to purchase and deliver alcohol to them. ABC and Salinas Police 
wanted to recognize the efforts of the non-profit organization named Safe Teens Empowerment Project in 
Salinas (STEPS), a project of Sun Street Centers, because this group organized the decoys who worked the 
Friday night operation. 

ABC is conducting the compliance checks state-wide to reduce the availability of alcohol to minors. Young 
people under the age of 21 have a higher rate of drunken driving fatalities than the general adult population. 

Minor Decoy operations have been conducted by local law enforcement throughout the state since the 
1980’s. When the program first began, the violation rate of retail establishments selling to minors was as 
high as 40 to 50 percent. When conducted on a routine basis, the rate has dropped in some cities as low as 
10 percent or even below. The latest violation rate state-wide is almost 24 percent, or nearly one in five retail 
licensees selling to minors. 

In 1994, the California Supreme Court ruled unanimously that use of underage decoys is a valid tool of law 
enforcement to ensure that liquor licensees are complying with the law. 

Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the 
Business, Transportation and Housing Agency. 
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