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California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control Cites

5 Individuals for Selling Alcohol to Minors
Enforcement Efforts Aimed at Reducing Youth Access to Alcohol Will Continue

CHICO- In a continuing effort to reduce the number of businesses selling alcohol to minors and
prevent adults from furnishing alcohol to underage individuals, ABC Investigators conducted a
compliance check of 32 licensed businesses in Chico on Friday, October 20, 2006 and cited 5
individuals for selling alcohol to minors.

ABC is considering taking disciplinary action against the five businesses where a minor decoy was
able to purchase alcohol.

Enforcement efforts will continue to focus primarily on reducing underage drinking which could result
in a reduction of youth-related traffic collisions and deaths. The efforts will also attempt to increase
compliance among businesses that have a license to sell alcohol.

The ABC is working with local police, colleges, and youth organizations such as Friday Night Live to
crack down on underage drinking.

The ABC will use Minor Decoy and Decoy Shoulder Tap Operations in its effort to make communities
safer. A Minor Decoy Operation involves minors under the direct supervision of the investigators, who
attempt to purchase alcohol from retail licensees. Those who sell to the minor face a minimum $250
fine and ABC may take action against the businesses where the sale occurred. That could include a
fine, a suspension or revocation of the license.

Decoy Shoulder Tap Operations target adults who purchase alcohol for people less than 21 years of
age. Under the program, a minor under the direct supervision of a peace officer will stand outside a
licensed business that sells alcohol and ask patrons to buy them alcohol. The minor indicates in some
way he or she is underage and cannot purchase the alcohol. If the adults comply, investigators then
arrest and cite them for furnishing alcohol to the minor. The penalty for furnishing alcohol to a minor is
a minimum $1,000 fine and 24 hours of community service.

Funding for the enforcement comes from the California Office of Traffic Safety through the Business,
Transportation and Housing Agency. ABC is a department of the Business, Transportation and
Housing Agency, which is under the direction of Secretary Sunne Wright McPeak, a member of the
Governor’s Cabinet.
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