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ABC CITES CLERKS FOR SELLING ALCOHOL TO MINORS 
 

CITIES OF MONTEREY PARK; ROSEMEAD and SOUTH EL MONTE – 
Investigators of the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) El Monte 
District Office cited two (2) clerks for selling alcohol to minors.  The actions were the 
result of a compliance check operation Wednesday, March 23, 2005 in which minors under 
the direct supervision of the investigators, attempted to purchase alcohol from retail 
licensees in the Cities of Monterey Park; Rosemead and South El Monte, California. 
 
Those who sold to the minor face a minimum fine of $250.00 and/or 24 to 32 hours of 
community service for a first violation.  In addition, ABC will take administrative action 
against the business’ liquor license.  That may include a fine, a suspension of the liquor 
license, or the permanent revocation of the license. 
 
The minor decoys purchased alcohol from two out of a total of thirteen locations that they 
visited.   
 
ABC is conducting the compliance checks state-wide to reduce the availability of alcohol 
to minors.  Young people under the age of 21 have a higher rate of drunk driving fatalities 
that the general adult population. 
 
Minor Decoy Operations have been conducted by local law enforcement throughout the 
state since the 1980’s.  When the program first began, the violation rate of retail 
establishments selling to minors was as high as 40 to 50 percent.  When conducted on a 
routine basis, the rate has dropped in some cities as low as 10 percent or even below.  The 
latest violation rate state-wide has fallen below 20 percent, or nearly one in five retail 
licensees selling to minors. 
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