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ABC CITES CLERKS FOR SELLING ALCOHOL TO MINORS 
 

Big Bear City / Big Bear Lake – Investigators of the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control (ABC) have cited 5 people for selling alcohol to minors.  The action was the result of a 
compliance check operation in which minors under the direct supervision of the investigators, 

attempted to purchase alcohol from retail licensees in Big Bear City / Big Bear Lake. 
 

Those who sold to the minor face a maximum fine of $250, and/or 24 to 32 hours of community 
service for a first violation.  In addition, ABC will take administrative action against the business’s 

liquor license.  That may include a fine, a suspension of the liquor license, or the permanent 
revocation of the license. 

 
The minor decoy was able to purchase alcohol from the following locations: 

 
Community Market 

100 E. Big Bear Blvd. 
Big Bear City 

 
Liquor Junction 

1041 W. Big Bear Blvd. 
Big Bear City 

 
L & H Liquor Market 

519 S. Pine Knot 
Big Bear Lake 

 
7 Eleven Store 2171 22809 
41440 Big Bear Blvd., A 

Big Bear Lake 
 

7 Eleven Store 2171 32151 
41901 Big Bear Blvd. 

Big Bear Lake 
 

Under the Minor Decoy operation, the minor must be under the age of 20, must have the 
appearance of a minor, cannot wear clothes or jewelry that would make them look older, and 

must answer truthfully if asked their age. 
 



ABC is conducting the compliance checks state-wide to reduce the availability of alcohol to 
minors.  Young people under the age of 21 have a higher rate of drink driving fatalities than 

the general adult population. 
 

Minor decoy operations have been conducted by local law enforcement throughout the state 
since the 1980’s.  When the program first began, the violation rate of retail establishments 

selling to minors was as high as 40 to 50 percent.  When conducted on a routine basis, the rate 
has dropped in some cities as low as 10 percent or even below.  The latest violation rate 

statewide is almost 24 percent, or nearly one in five retail licensees selling to minors. 
 

In 1994, the California Supreme Court ruled unanimously that use of underage decoys is a valid 
tool of law enforcement to ensure that liquor licensees are complying with the law. 

 
Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, 

through the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency, which is under the direction of 
Secretary Sunne McPeak Wright, a member of the Governor’s Cabinet.  
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