Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

WINE DIRECT SHIPPER PERMIT APPLICATION

Submit this form to the Department of ABC, Attn: Licensing, 3927 Lennane Drive, Suite 100,

Sacramento, CA 95834. Include with application:

* Copy of current winery license

* Payment of $10 (ten dollars) in check or money order form
* Copy of Federal Basic Permit

State of California

RECEIPT NUMBER

AMOUNT PAID

1. APPLICANT NAME(S) (This should be the same as the name on the winery license)

2. PHONE NUMBER (Including area code)

3. PREMISES ADDRESS (Street number and name, city, state and zip code)

4. BUSINESS NAME (DBA)

5. BUSINESS MAILING ADDRESS (If different from #2 above) (Street number and name, city, state and zip code)

6. EMAIL ADDRESS

7. STATE WHERE CURRENTLY LICENSED

8. LICENSE NUMBER 9. EXPIRATION DATE

10. TYPE OF LICENSE ISSUED (EX. WINEGROWER) 11. BONDED WINERY NUMBER

12. AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE 13. PRINTED NAME

14. DATE SIGNED

FOR ABC USE ONLY

ATTACHMENTS RECEIVED
Copy of current alcoholic beverage license |:| Payment

|:| Copy of Federal Basic Permit

RECOMMENDATION REVIEWED BY
Approved |:| Denied

DATE APPLICATION ACCEPTED

Business and Professions Code Section 23661.3

(a) Notwithstanding any law, rule, or regulation to the contrary, any person
currently licensed in this state or any other state as a winegrower who obtains a
wine direct shipper permit pursuant to this section may sell and ship wine directly to
a resident of California, who is at least 21 years of age, for the resident's personal
use and not for resale.

Before sending any shipment to a resident of California, the wine direct shipper
permitholder must:

(1) File an application with the department.

(2) Pay aten-dollar ($10) annual registration fee if the winegrower is not currently
licensed by the department.

(3) Provide the department its California alcoholic beverage license number or a
true copy of its current alcoholic beverage license issued by another state.

(4) Obtain from the department a wine direct shipper permit.

(5) Obtain a seller's permit or register with the State Board of Equalization pursuant
to Part 1 (commencing with Section 6001) of Division 2 of the Revenue and
Taxation Code.

(b) A wine direct shipper permit authorizes the permitholder to do all of the
following:

(1) Sell and ship wine to any person 21 years of age or older for his or her personal
use and not for resale.

(2) Ship wine directly to a resident in this state only in containers that are
conspicuously labeled with the words: "CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE
OF PERSON AGE 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY."

(3) Ship wine only if the permitholder requires the carrier to obtain the signature of
any individual 21 years of age or older before delivering any wine shipped to an
individual in this state.

(4) If the permitholder is located outside of this state, report to the department no
later than January 31 of each year, the total amount of wine shipped into the state
during the preceding calendar year under the wine direct shipper permit.

(5) If the permitholder is located outside of this state, pay to the State Board of
Equalization all sales and use taxes, and excise taxes on sales to residents of
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California under the wine direct shipper permit. For excise tax
purposes, all wine sold pursuant to a direct shipper permit shall be
deemed to be wine sold in this state.
(6) If located within this state, provide the department any
necessary additional information not currently provided to ensure
compliance with this section. o
(7) Permit the department or the State Board of Equalization to
perform an audit of the wine direct shipper permitholder's records
ugon request. o
(8) Be deemed to have consented to the jurisdiction of the
department or any other state agency and the California courts
concerning enforcement of this section any related laws, rules, or
regulations.
(d) A wine direct shipper permitholder located outside of the state
may annually renew its permit with the department by paying a
ten-dollar ($10) renewal registration fee and providing the
department with a true copy of its current alcoholic beverage
license issued by another state. A wine direct shipper
permitholder located in California shall renew its wine direct
shipper permit in conjunction with its master license. For
purposes of this section, "master license" means a winegrower's
license issued by the department. o
(e) The department and the State Board of Equalization may
romulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of this
aw.
(f) The department may enforce the requirements of this section
b%/_ administrative proceedings to suspend or revoke the wine direct
shipper permit, and the department may accept payment of an
offer in compromise in lieu of suspension as provided by this
division. Any hearing held pursuant to Chapter 5 (commencing
with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the
Government Code against a permitholder outside of California
shall be held in Sacramento. . L
gg) Sales and shipments of wine direct to consumers in California
rom winegrowers who do not possess a current wine direct
shipper permit from the department are prohibited. Any person
who knowingly makes, participates in, transports, imports, or
receives such a shipment is guilty of a misdemeanor pursuant to
Section 25617.
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