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Instructions:  Please read this entire form before filing your application. 
 
INTRODUCTION 
 

Licenses to sell beer and wine are readily available from the State if the applicant and the 
premises qualify.  However, original (new) general licenses, which authorize the sale of beer, 
wine and distilled spirits, are restricted in number and issued only once each year based upon 
population increases within each county.1 If there are more applicants than licenses available, a 
public drawing is held.  (The only other way to obtain a general license is to purchase an existing 
license from someone who has one already.) To enter the drawing, an applicant must have been a 
resident of California for at least 90 days prior to the date scheduled for the priority drawing (see 
Residency, page 2).   
 
The new and intercounty general licenses are known as "priority" licenses because each 
applicant is given a priority ranking based on the number of applicants versus number of licenses 
available. 
 
Priority licenses are off-sale general (for package stores) and on-sale general (for bona fide 
public eating places and special on-sale general for clubs2 ). 
 
Priority licenses are subject to conditions and restrictions (see page 4). 

 
 
FILING PERIOD 
 

During the period of September 08 through September 19, 2008, ABC offices will accept 
applications for priority licenses in eligible counties (see page 8).  
 
 

APPLICATION FEES 
 
The fee for an original on-sale general or off-sale general license is $12,000; the fee for an 
intercounty transfer is $6,000.  The fee must be paid by certified check, cashier's check, or money 
order only.  This way, ABC is able to automatically refund the application fees, less $100 service 
charge, of all unsuccessful applicants.  Applicants whose application fees have been automatically 
refunded will retain their priority ranking until the priority list expires.  Successful applicants must 
pay additional fees later, at the time of filing the formal application.  A successful applicant is one 
whose priority position (number) is not higher than the number of licenses available. 
 

                         
1Article XX. Section 22 of the State Constitution and Sections 23793, 23816, 23817, 23821, 23954.5, 24070, and  
24072 of the ABC Act. 
2Special on-sale general licenses may not be issued to an individual, but may only be issued to an organization (e.g., a  
corporation, association, limited partnership, etc.).  The premises for which a special on-sale general license is issued  
may be used only for club members, guests, or catered events.  It must operate as a club (e.g., athletic or social club) and  
not as a public premises or a bona fide public eating place. (Section 23399.2 of the ABC Act) 
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If an applicant owes money to California taxing agencies (Board of Equalization, Franchise Tax 
Board or Department of Employee Development), a claim against the priority application fee 
may be made by the taxing agency.  If such a claim is made, the amount owed will be deducted 
from the priority application fee at the time of automatic refund or withdrawal. 
 
NAMES ON APPLICATION 

 
The application for a priority license must list the names of all persons or entities who have 
an interest in the priority application or who will have an interest in the business to be 
licensed.  Failure to do so is grounds for denial of the application and loss of priority status.  
There can be no "hidden owners" or "silent partners" or change in ownership after the 
priority application has been filed. 

 
RESIDENCY 
 

Every applicant for a priority license must be a resident of California for at least 90 days 
prior to the date of the drawing.  Applicants must submit proof of residency only if they 
are successful applicants. 

 
• Corporations — A California corporation begins its existence upon the filing of its 

Articles of Incorporation with the Secretary of State. For out-of-state corporations, the 
90-day residency begins with the date registered with the Secretary of State to do 
business in California.   

 
• Limited Partnerships — The 90-day residency begins with the date the form LP-1 is 

filed with the Secretary of State.  For out-of-state limited partnerships, the 90-day 
residency begins with the date registered with the Secretary of State to do business in 
California. 

 
• Limited Liability Companies — The 90-day residency begins with the date the form 

LLC-1 is filed with the Secretary of State.  For out-of-state limited liability companies, 
the 90-day residency begins with the date registered with the Secretary of State to do 
business in California. 

 
• Partnerships — Each partner must provide proof of residency.  
 
• Individuals — Persons applying for a license as the sole owner will be required to 

provide proof of residency and legal presence in the United States. If an 
application is submitted without the proof of residency and legal presence in the 
United States and the application is not filed with the same exact name that is 
listed on his/her legal documents, the applicant will be disqualified. A list of the 
documents (ABC-69) acceptable as proof of legal presence in the United States can 
be obtained from any ABC District Office or web site at www.abc.ca.gov. 

 
FILING THE APPLICATION 

 
How to File in Person. Applications may be filed in person by going to one of the ABC 
offices listed on Page 9.  You may file your application at the ABC office that handles the 
county where your proposed premises will be located, or at any ABC office that is more 
convenient for you.  ABC offices are open on each business day from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 
p.m.  On September 19, 2008, only those applicants within the doors of the office at 5:00 
p.m. may file priority applications.  The following items are required: 
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1. The required fee (certified check, cashier's check or money order, payable to Alcoholic 

Beverage Control);  
 
2. Each Applicant,  including P-12 licensees must complete Form ABC-521-1, Priority  
    Application Questionnaire; 
 
3. If you are applying for both an original and intercounty transfer of the same type license, 

complete a separate Form ABC-521-1 for each location, include a copy of the lease, deed, 
or escrow instructions showing tenancy for each of the premises or submit a completed  

 Form ABC-264, Statement of Legal Tenancy-Priority for each premises. 
 
4. Signed Form ABC-213, Application for Priority License (completed by ABC front counter 

staff).  Only one person must appear and sign the Form ABC-213 on behalf of the 
applicant entity.  However, a successful applicant must comply with the signature 
requirements of Section 23953 of the Business and Professions Code (see Formal 
Application for License, Page 6). 

 
5. If the application is not complete and correct when filing in person on September 19, 

2008, the application will be disqualified . 
 
How to File by Mail. To file an application by mail, submit items (1) through (4) below to 
ABC.  To minimize the transfer of application documents between ABC offices, you are 
encouraged to mail the documents to the ABC District or Branch Office serving the premises 
to be licensed  (page 9).  However, if it is more convenient to file all documents for multiple 
counties at one ABC office, you may do so.  Your envelope containing Items (1) through 
(4) must be postmarked on or before Friday, September 19, 2008:  
 
1. The required fee (certified check, cashier's check or money order payable to Alcoholic 

Beverage Control);  
 

2. Each Applicant, including P-12 licensees must complete Form ABC-521-1, Priority  
    Application Questionnaire; 
 
3. Completed Form ABC-213-SIG, Priority Application Signature Sheet (this form must be 

notarized); and 
 
4. If you are applying for both an original and intercounty transfer of the same type license, 

complete a separate Form ABC-521-1 for each location, include a copy of the lease, deed, 
or escrow instructions showing tenancy for each of the premises or submit a completed  

 Form ABC-264, Statement of Legal Tenancy-Priority for each premises. 
 
5. If the application is received or postmarked by September 19, 2008 and is not 

complete or correct, the application will be disqualified. 
 
Next Steps. After you file your application, either in person or by mail, please wait to 
receive written notice from ABC.  The notice, which will be mailed to you on or after  
October 2, 2008, will advise you of your priority status. 
 
If you are successful, file your formal application for specific premises at the nearest ABC 
district office.  Call first to find out what forms and additional fees are needed. 
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If you are unsuccessful, be sure to keep the district office apprised of your current mailing 
address to maintain your priority position. 

 
CONDITIONS AND RESTRICTIONS 
 

Applicant 
 
Applicants may not pool funds to file more than one priority application. 
 
A married couple may file only one priority application. 
 
Any person or entity, who files for a priority license, may not have an interest in any other 
priority application in the same county and drawing. 
 
If filing as a sole owner, application must be filed in the exact name that is listed on their 
approved Alien Verification Documents.  
 
Each priority application must show the names of all persons having an interest in the license 
application, including all: 

 
•Partnerships 
•General/Limited partners of a Limited Partnership  
•Stockholders or prospective stockholders  
•Limited liability company officers 
•Limited liability company manager(s) 
•Limited liability company members  
•Corporate Officers and Directors 
 
The application must state that the applicants have no interest in any other application being filed 
in the same county for the same type license, with the exception of an intercounty application. 
 
No corporation, limited partnership, or limited liability company may file a priority application if 
it holds the controlling interest in another entity that has filed for the same type of license in the 
same county.  Nor may a priority application be filed by one or more corporations, limited 
partnerships or limited liability companies if they are subsidiaries of the same parent corporation, 
limited partnership or limited liability company. 

 
A person who is filing for a priority license as a sole owner, general partner, corporate officer, 
director, limited liability company officer or manager, or stockholder, limited partner, or LLC 
member may not be associated in any previously herein stated positions in any other entity that is 
filing for the same type license in the same county. 
 
Only one priority application in each county will be accepted from any one applicant, or entity, 
for any one type of priority license.  However, an applicant for an original general license may 
also file an application for the intercounty transfer of a general license in the same county if 
separate locations for each license are specified. 
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Tenancy. An applicant who applies for both an original general license and intercounty transfer 
of a general license of the same type must have control of separate and distinct premises for each 
license and, at the time of filing the priority application, must present proof in the form of a lease, 
deed, or escrow to purchase the property.  
 
In lieu of proof of legal tenancy, the applicant may sign Form ABC-264, Statement of Legal 
Tenancy-Priority for each premises.  This form precludes the applicant from seeking any change 
of location after the drawing if the applicant fails to produce proof of tenancy prior to the 
drawing. 
 
Premises. No on-sale general license shall be issued or transferred for "public premises" unless 
the applicant can show that substantial public demand cannot otherwise be satisfied.  Public 
premises means a business where no minors are allowed to enter and no food service is required. 
 
An applicant may apply at a premises licensed with a license of the same type, provided that: 
 

(a) The applicant holds no ownership interest in the existing license; and 
 
(b) The existing license is surrendered under Rule 65 at, or before, time of filing the  
 formal application and remains surrendered unless transferred to another  
     premises. 

 
No change in the location of the applied-for premises will be permitted except for causes 
beyond the control of the applicant and with approval of the ABC Director. 
 
An applicant for an on-sale general license may not apply at premises for which an off-sale 
general license is issued, and an applicant for an off-sale general license may not apply at 
premises for which an on-sale general license is issued unless the off-sale business and the  
on-sale business are to be physically separated and operated independently of each other and 
the privileges granted are to be fully exercised in a bona fide manner. 
 
After Issuance of the License. No original on-sale general license for a bona fide eating 
place and no special on-sale general license shall be exchanged for a public premises license 
for a period of two years following the date of license issuance, and no on-sale general 
license transferred intercounty shall be exchanged for a public premises license for a period 
of two years following the transfer.  Original licenses cannot transfer for two years nor be 
sold for more than $12,000 for two years following the date of issuance.  Licenses transferred 
intercounty cannot transfer for two years and cannot be sold for more than $6,000, if the 
license was originally issued within the past five years. 
 
 

PRIORITY OF APPLICANTS 
 

Priority. If there are more applicants than licenses available, a public drawing will be held.  
Each applicant will be notified of the time, date, and place of any drawing on or after  
October 2, 2008.  ABC will notify each applicant by mail of his/her priority position.  If 
there are fewer applicants than, or the number of applicants is equal to, the number of 
licenses available, the applicants will be notified to complete a formal application for their 
specific premises within 90 days.  However, after September 19, 2008, whether or not a 
priority drawing is required, no additional applications will be accepted. 
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Expiration of Priority. Priority Drawing lists automatically expire on June 30, 2009.  If 
there are fewer applicants than, or the number of applicants is equal to, the number of 
licenses available, the applicants will be notified to complete a formal application for their 
specific premises within 90 days. Failure to do so will cause the application to be 
automatically withdrawn and their fees refunded less a service charge of $100.00.  (See 
Application Fees, page 1, for information about claims by California taxing agencies.) 
 
Successful Applicants. A successful applicant is one whose priority position (number) is not 
higher than the number of licenses available.  For example, in a county where ten licenses are 
authorized, the ten applicants whose priority numbers are one through ten are "successful" 
applicants, and they will be notified to file formal applications.  ABC then conducts a thorough 
investigation to see if the applicant and the premises qualify for a license. 
 
Unsuccessful Applicants. An unsuccessful applicant is one whose priority position (number) is 
higher than the number of licenses available.  For example, in a county where ten licenses are 
authorized, any applicant whose priority number is higher than ten is an "unsuccessful" 
applicant. 

 
Automatic Refund to Unsuccessful Applicants. The priority application fee, less a $100 
service charge, will be automatically refunded to each unsuccessful applicant.  Refund checks 
will be mailed within 45 days of the priority drawing.  (See Application Fees, page 1, for 
information about claims by California taxing agencies.) 
 

Although the priority application fee, less service charge, will be automatically refunded to 
each unsuccessful applicant, that person will keep the priority position assigned at the 
priority drawing.  In the event a successful applicant is disqualified or withdraws, the next 
applicant in order of priority will be advised that the person has 30 days to repay the 
appropriate priority application fee, less service charge, and has an additional 60 days in 
which to file the formal application. 
 

To avoid losing that person's priority position through failure to repay the priority application 
fee within the 30-day period, an unsuccessful applicant should keep ABC advised of his/her 
whereabouts.  Please notify the ABC Office where you filed your application of changes in 
mailing address or of forwarding addresses if you are going to be out of town. 

 
Withdrawal by Successful Applicants. The priority application and formal application fees, 
less service charge, will be refunded to successful applicants who withdraw their 
applications.  (See Application Fees, page 1, for information about claims by California 
taxing agencies.) 
 

FORMAL APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 
 

Within 90 days of notification to file a formal application, the successful applicant must file a 
formal application for specific premises.  
 
Proof of Tenancy. At the time of filing the formal application, the applicant must present 
proof of a two year lease agreement at the applied-for premises.  Proof of tenancy may be a 
rental agreement, lease, deed, escrow papers, etc.  We suggest that any financial agreements 
entered into be made contingent upon the issuance of the alcoholic beverage license as the 
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two year lease period starts when the license issues.  You have no assurance that the license 
will be granted. 
 
 
Premises Under Construction. If a new premises is to be constructed, the successful 
applicant must either be in business at the location specified or have construction 
substantially underway within six months of the date ABC approves the formal application.  
For existing premises, the applicant must be in business at the location specified within 12 
months of the date ABC approves the formal application.  If the time periods are not met, 
ABC may process an automatic withdrawal. 
 
Signature Requirements. The applicant who qualifies to file a formal application must 
comply with the signature requirements of Section 23953 of the Business and Professions 
Code, which are: 
 
• Sole Owner — An individual. 

 
• Partnerships — The application must be signed by each of the partners (e.g., general 

partnerships, husband and wife, etc.). 
 
• Limited Partnerships — The application must be signed by each of the general partners.   

Limited partners do not need to sign. 
 
• Corporations — The application must be signed by two officers of the corporation, one 

from each of the following categories: (a) the chairperson of the board, the president, or a 
vice president; and (b) the secretary, assistant secretary, chief financial officer, or assistant 
treasurer. 

 
• Limited Liability Companies — For a limited liability company that is managed by its 

members, the application must be signed by each member or by an officer authorized by the 
articles of organization or the operating agreement to bind the company.  For a limited 
liability company that is managed by a manager or managers, the application must be signed 
by the manager, managers, or by an officer authorized by the articles of organization or the 
operating agreement to bind company. 

 
Automatic Withdrawal. At the time of filing the priority application, each applicant signs Form 
ABC-213, Alcoholic Beverage License - Priority Application.  In doing so, the applicant agrees 
to certain conditions.  Failure to comply with the time periods specified on Form ABC-213 may 
result in automatic withdrawal of the application and cancellation of the applicant's priority 
position.  The application fee, less service charge, will be refunded.  (See Application Fees, page 
1, for information about claims by California taxing agencies.) 
 

DISQUALIFIED APPLICANT 
 
ABC may deny any application should the applicant fail to promptly submit any required 
evidence of qualification.  Whenever a final decision of ABC denies an applicant because of 
disqualifying moral character or reasons pertaining to the premises, the applicant's priority 
position will be canceled and the fee refunded.  (See Withdrawal by Successful Applicants, 
page 6.) 
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ELIGIBLE COUNTIES 
 
This year, due to population increases, the following counties will be eligible for additional on-
sale general and off-sale general licenses: 
 
 
 

County 

Original  
(New) 

On-Sale 

Original (New) 
Off-Sale 

 
Intercounty  

On-Sale 

 
Intercounty  

Off-Sale 
 
Alameda 
Butte 
Contra Costa 
El Dorado 
Fresno  
Glenn 
Imperial 
Kern 
Kings  
Los Angeles 
Madera 
Marin 
Merced 
Monterey 
Napa 
Orange 
Placer 
Riverside 
Sacramento 
San Benito 
San Bernardino 
San Diego 
San Joaquin 
San Luis Obispo 
San Mateo 
Santa Barbara 
Santa Clara 
Santa Cruz 
Shasta 
Solano 
Sonoma 
Stanislaus 
Sutter 
Tehama 
Tulare 
Ventura 
Yolo 
Yuba 

 
25 
8 

25 
1 

25 
1 
5 

25 
4 

25 
4 
1 
7 

19 
0 

25 
6 

25 
25 
2 

25 
25 
23 
2 

10 
2 

25 
6 
1 

14 
2 

18 
4 
2 

14 
25 
7 
3 

 
25 
1 

25 
0 

10 
0 
5 
8 
3 

25 
1 
0 
2 

15 
4 

25 
7 

25 
25 
0 

25 
25 
22 
2 

24 
3 

25 
9 
0 

13 
3 
2 
1 
0 
3 

25 
6 
0 

 
25 
0 

25 
0 

25 
0 
5 

25 
4 

25 
4 
0 
7 
0 
0 

25 
0 

25 
25 
2 

25 
25 
23 
0 
0 
0 

25 
0 
0 

14 
0 

18 
2 
0 

14 
25 
7 
2 

 
25 
0 

25 
0 
0 
0 
4 
0 
0 

25 
0 
0 
0 
4 
1 

25 
0 

25 
25 
0 

25 
25 
22 
0 

24 
0 

25 
4 
0 

13 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
8 
6 
0 
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ABC OFFICES 
 
You may file your application at the ABC office that handles the county where your proposed 
premises will be located; or at any ABC office that is more convenient for you: 
 
 
These Are handled by 
counties: this ABC office: 
 
Alameda, Oakland District Office 
Contra Costa, 1515 Clay Street, Suite 2208 
Solano Phone: (510) 622-4970 
 
Sutter, Yuba Yuba City Branch Office 
 950 Tharp Road, Suite 502 
 Phone: (530) 751-8570 
 
El Dorado,  Sacramento District Office 
Placer, Yolo, 3321 Power Inn Road, Suite 230 
Sacramento Phone: (916) 227-2002 
 
Fresno, Fresno District Office 
Kings, Madera, 3640 East Ashlan Avenue 
Tulare Phone: (559) 225-6334 
 
Imperial Rancho Mirage District Office 
 42-700 Bob Hope Dr., Suite 317 
 Phone: (760) 568-0990 
 
Kern Bakersfield District Office 
 4800 Stockdale Hwy., Suite 213 
 Phone: (661) 395-2731 
 
Los Angeles, Monrovia District Office 
Northeastern 222 East Huntington Drive, Suite 114 
Area Phone: (626) 256-3241 
 
Los Angeles, LA/Metro District Office 
Central Area 3530 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 1110 
 Phone: (213) 736-2005 
 
Los Angeles, Inglewood District Office 
Southern and One Manchester Boulevard, 6th Floor 
Western Area Phone: (310) 412-6311 
 
Los Angeles, Lakewood District Office 
Southeastern  3950 Paramount Boulevard, Suite 250 
Area Phone: (562) 982-1337 
 
Los Angeles, Van Nuys District Office 
North and North- 6150 Van Nuys Boulevard, Rm. 220   
western Area Phone: (818) 901-5017 
 
Merced, Stockton District Office 
San Joaquin, 31 E. Channel Street, Room 168 
Stanislaus Phone: (209) 948-7739 

 

These Are handled by 
counties: this ABC office: 

 
Monterey, Salinas District Office 
San Benito, 1137 Westridge Parkway 
Santa Cruz Phone: (831) 755-1990 
 
Marin, Santa Rosa District Office 
Napa, 50 D Street, Room 130 
Sonoma Phone: (707) 576-2165 
 
Orange Santa Ana District Office 
 605 W. Santa Ana Blvd. 
 Bldg. 28, Ste. 369 
 Phone: (714) 558-4101 

 
Riverside, Rancho Mirage District Office 
San Bernardino 42-700 Bob Hope Dr., Suite 317 
 Phone: (760) 568-0990 
             and 
 Riverside District Office 
 3737 Main Street, Suite 900 
 Phone: (951) 782-4400 
 
San Diego, San Diego District Office 
Southern Area 1350 Front Street, Room 5056 
 Phone: (619) 525-4064 
 
San Diego, San Marcos District Office 
Northern Area 334 Via Vera Cruz, Suite 204 
 Phone: (760) 471-4237 
 
Santa Barbara San Luis Obispo Branch Office 
San Luis Obispo 3220 South Higuera, Suite 233 
 Phone: (805) 543-7183 
 
San Mateo San Francisco District Office 
 71 Stevenson Street, Suite 1500 
 Phone: (415) 356-6500 
 
Santa Barbara, Ventura District Office 
Ventura 1000 South Hill Road, Suite 310 
 Phone: (805) 289-0100 
 
Santa Clara San Jose District Office 
 100 Paseo de San Antonio, Rm. 119 
 Phone: (408) 277-1200 
 
Butte, Glenn, Redding District Office 
Shasta, Tehama 1900 Churn Creek Rd., Suite 215 
 Phone: (530) 224-4830

 


